Jump to content

Martin races to $5,000 IMCA Modified Duel In the Desert jackpot


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information Nov. 18, 2007

From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x213


Martin races to $5,000 IMCA Modified Duel In the Desert jackpot


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 17) – Eddie Martin played his racing cards

right and hit a $5,000 jackpot in Saturday’s Duel In the Desert

feature for IMCA Modifieds at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.


Martin made a bold move past Kellen Chadwick to take the lead

following a lap 10 re-start, then held off former race winners David

Murray Jr. and Johnny Saathoff for the big payday on the half-mile

clay oval. Alan Sharpensteen and Conner Pullen completed the top five

in the 40-lapper, the final sanctioned event of the 2007 IMCA season.


The 10th annual special featured a record 185 entries from 19 states

and Canada. Chadwick proved fastest in Thursday’s qualifying feature

to earn the pole start, with Martin taking the initial green from

outside row one by virtue of his win in Friday’s qualifier.


Chadwick took charge at the start and had started putting distance on

Martin before the lap 10 yellow, then fell behind Murray, Steve Arpin

and Saathoff by the time the 12th lap was scored. Arpin caught Murray

and was side by side with Martin at midway when the front pair went

into lapped traffic.


Splitting a back runner, Martin went to the bottom while Arpin got

pushed out of the middle groove to the top of the track, losing six

positions in the process.


Bang-bang-bang cautions on laps 25-27 slowed the pace before the

field got back into rhythm, with Martin ahead of Murray, Saathoff,

Sharpensteen and Pullen.


Murray, the 2003 Duel winner, and Saathoff, first in the 2004 race,

swapped the second spot back and forth before Murray settled in for

good. Arpin was back into fifth on lap 32 but Pullen regained the

position the next time around.


The front three pulled away in the late stages, with Martin taking

the checkers three car lengths in front of Murray. Saathoff was

another two car lengths back.


Jeep Berry followed his victory in Saturday’s EQ Cylinder Heads Wild

West Tour Shootout with a sixth place run. Arpin, Mike Hansen, Mark

Zorn and Ryan McDaniel followed.


Martin accepted a claim after the race, swapping engines with Jay

Goosmann. Zorn’s charge from the 21st starting spot netted him a set

of wheels from Gill Racing Wheels.


Two-time defending race winner Jeremy Payne won the final last-chance

race on Saturday, but exited the feature after coming to a stop on

the track on the 16th circuit. Chris Alcorn won his last-chance race

after starting 15th and was 12th in the feature.


Berry took home the lion’s share of the $3,000 Shootout purse,

leading to the checkers after Ricky Alvarado broke during a caution

near midway.


Dan Fitzgerald held the point the first four laps before giving way

to the 10th starting Alvarado and then the 12th starting Berry. Ryan

Dimick passed Fitzgerald for second on the white flag lap and

finished a straightaway behind the fleet Berry.


Their victories put both Martin and Berry on the ballot for the 2008

Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.


Nov. 17 Results


1st last chance feature (top two) – 1. Mike Villanueva, Atwater,

Calif.; 2. Gary Dutton, Bakersfield, Calif.

2nd last chance feature – 1. Chris Alcorn, Lincoln, Neb.; 2. Jay

Goosmann, Hinton, Iowa.

3rd last chance feature – 1. Sherman Barnett, El Paso, Texas; 2. Will

Brack, Mead, Colo.

4th last chance feature – 1. George Fronsman, Surprise, Ariz.; 2. Joe

Antonetti, Santa Cruz, Calif.

5th last chance feature – 1. Mark Zorn, Russell, Kan.; 2. Chad Dolan,

Gibbon, Neb.

6th last chance feature – 1. Jeremy Payne, Cave City, Ark.; 2. Matt

Brack, Mead, Colo.


EQ WWMT Shootout – 1. Jeep Berry, Grand Junction, Colo.; 2. Ryan

Dimick, Wellington, Utah; 3. Dan Fitzgerald, Las Vegas; 4, Chase

Hansen, Myton, Utah; 5. Harvey Howard, Price, Utah; 6. Derek Kopp,

Montrose, Colo.; 7, Regan Tafoya, Farmington, N.M.; 8. Tyrone Yazzie,

Farmington, N.M.; 9. Rick Spangler, Grand Junction, Colo.; 10. Ricky

Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 11. Don Baisch, Rigby, Idaho; 12. Robert

Gallegos, Cory, Colo.; 13. Jason Haug, Salida, Colo.; 14. Mickey

Stubbings, Helper, Utah; 15. Kasey Baisch, Rigby, Idaho; 16. Dwain

McCarty, Delta, Colo.; 17. Jon Stringfellow, Helper, Utah.


Feature – 1. Eddie Martin, Stillwell, Okla.; 2. David Murray Jr.,

Oberlin, Kan.; 3. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 4. Alan

Sharpensteen, Amarillo, Texas; 5. Conner Pullen, Amarillo, Texas; 6.

Berry; 7. Steve Arpin, Fort Frances, Ont.; 8. Mike Hansen, Alton,

Iowa; 9. Zorn; 10. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 11. Kellen

Chadwick, Oakley, Calif.; 12. Alcorn; 13. Robby Haines, Benkelman,

Neb.; 14. Fronsman; 15. Dolan; 16. Dutton; 17. Matt Brack; 18.

Villanueva; 19. Goosmann; 20. Brad Pounds, Bakersfield, Calif.; 21.

Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 22. Bobby Hogge IV, Salinas, Calif.; 23.

Richard Papenhausen, Chico, Calif.; 24. Will Brack; 25. Antonetti;

26. Payne; 27. Reese Coffee, Hinton, Iowa; 28. Barnett.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...