Jump to content

Chadwick tops opening night qualifier at Duel In The Desert


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information Nov.16, 2007

From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x225


Chadwick tops opening night qualifier at Duel In The Desert


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 15) – Kellen Chadwick already has $300 to show

for his efforts at Las Vegas Motor Speed way’s Duel In The Desert


Next, he’ll start from the pole in Saturday’s $5,000 to win main

event for IMCA Modifieds on the half-mile clay oval.

Chadwick won Thursday’s opening night qualifying feature to earn the

inside row one start. With a record 184 entries competing, the top

eight finishers advanced to the big show and fellow Californian Bobby

Hogge IV chased Chadwick to the checkers.

Former Duel winners David Murray Jr. (2003) and Johnny Saathoff

(2004), along with Mike Hansen, Canadian clip per Steve Arpin, Reese

Coffee and Brad Pounds will line up behind Chadwick on the inside row

on Saturday.

Murray and Chadwick squabbled over the early lead, with Murray in

front the first, third and fourth circuits.

Chadwick took over for good the fifth time around and led to the end

of the 20-lapper.

Two cautions interrupted the contest. Two-time defending race winner

Jeremy Payne was a casualty of a second cir cuit tangle that also

involved Gene Kay and George Ashby. The other yellow came on lap 14.

Another $300 goes to the winner of the Friday night qualifying

feature. Three drivers from each of eight “B” races advance to the

qualifier, with the top eight lining up on the outside row Saturday.

A 15-lap Shootout is on the card Saturday for top 20 finishers in the

EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour.

The top two drivers from each of the six last-chance features that

will follow that race transfer to the 40-lap feature.

Both the Duel In The Desert and the WWMT Shootout are qualifiers for

next year’s Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.

The previous event record of 178 entries was established last year.

Drivers from 18 states vied Thursday.



1st heat (top three) – 1. Kellen Chadwick, Oakley, Calif.; 2. Steve

Arpin, Fort Frances, Ont.; 3. Tyler Hahn, Stockton, Kan.

2nd heat – 1. Ryan McDaniel, Olivehurst, Calif.; 2. Troy Heupel,

Williston, N.D.; 3. Jay Goosman, Hinton, Iowa.

3rd heat – 1. David Murray Jr., Oberlin, Kan.; 2. Brad Pounds,

Bakersfield, Calif.; 3. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.

4th heat – 1. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 2. Joe Antonetti,

Santa Cruz, Calif.; 3. Troy McElroy, Grand Junction, Colo.

5th heat – 1. Dan Fitzgerald, Las Vegas; 2. Bob Moore, Sioux City,

Iowa; 3. Dan Lee, High River, Alberta.

6th heat – 1. Joe Carr, Santa Rosa, Calif.; 2. Jon DeBenedetti,

Central Point, Ore.; 3. Joe Frock, Reno.

7th heat – 1. George Ashby, Rawlins, Wyo.; 2. Lee Jensen,

Bakersfield, Calif.; 3. Bill Smith III, Sparks.

8th heat – 1. Conner Pullen, Amarillo, Texas; 2. Brent Schlake, Blue

Springs, Neb.; 3. Richard Papenhausen, Chico, Calif.

9th heat – 1. Mike Hansen, Alton, Iowa; 2. Jeep Berry, Myton, Utah;

3. Clay Daly, Bakersfield, Calif.

10th heat – 1. Bryan Burnes, LeMoore, Calif.; 2. Reese Coffee,

Hinton, Iowa; 3. Bill Miller, Munds Park, Ariz.

11th heat – 1. Gene Kay, Yerington; 2. Jay Marks, Bakersfield,

Calif.; 3. Ronnie Williams, Las Vegas.

12th heat – 1. Bobby Hogge IV, Salinas, Calif.; 2. Tony Kinkade Jr.,

Hesperia, Calif.; 3. Wade Taylor, Spring Creek.

13th heat – 1. Jeremy Payne, Cave City, Ark.; 2. Will Brack, Mead,

Colo.; 3. Gary Dutton, Bakersfield, Calif.

14th heat – 1. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia, Kan.; 2. Kelly Shaw,

Idaho Falls, Idaho; 3. Tim Helms, North Las Vegas.

15th heat – 1. Jerry Clements, Chino Valley, Calif.; 2. Mark Zorn,

Russell, Kan.; 3. Kasey Baisch, Rigby, Idaho.

16th heat – 1. Alex Stanford, Chowchilla, Calif.; 2. Angel Muenoz,

Lamar, Colo.; 3. Matt Brack, Mead, Colo.

1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. Arpin; 2. Goosman; 3. Eddie Martin,

Stillwell, Okla.

2nd “B” – 1. Pounds; 2. Alan Sharpensteen, Amarillo, Texas; 3. Stone.

3rd “B” – 1. Moore; 2. Mike Villanueva, Atwater, Calif.; 3. Frock.

4th “B” – 1. Jensen; 2. Papenhausen; 3. Travis Metz, Blackfoot, Idaho.

5th “B” – 1. Coffee; 2. Berry; 3. Robby Haines, Benkelman, Neb.

6th “B” – 1. Williams; 2. Paul Peterson, Rock Springs, Wyo.; 3. Jack

Norris, Great Falls, Mont.

7th “B” – 1. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.; 2. Will Brack; 3. Jeremy

Frenier, Fort Morgan, Colo.

8th “B” – 1. Matt Brack; 2. Christy Georges, El Paso, Texas; 3. Levi

Kiefer, Pahrump.

Qualifying feature – 1. Chadwick; 2. Hogge; 3. Murray; 4. Saathoff;

5. Hansen; 6. Arpin; 7. Coffee; 8. Pounds; 9. Fitzgerald; 10.

Alvarado; 11. Pullen; 12. Burnes; 13. Jensen; 14. Moore; 15.

Williams; 16. Clements; 17. McDaniel; 18. Matt Brack; 19. Stanford;

20. Blochlinger; 21. Ashby; 22. Kay; 23. Payne; 24. Carr.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...