Jump to content

Bailey wins pole start for Pepsi USA Nationals Deery


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information Sept. 15, 2007From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x225


Bailey wins pole start for Pepsi USA Nationals Deery

WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa (Sept. 14) – Lonnie Bailey claimed the pole starting spot for Saturday’s $10,000 to win, 100-lap Pepsi USA Nationals Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at 34 Raceway. Bailey, the IMCA Sunoco Late Model track champion at West Burlington during the 2007 point season, topped the first of five heat races and also posted the fast time in Friday night’s opening program. Matt Strassheim paced the second heat and will line up outside Bailey on the front row. Also winning heats were Jason Frankel, Joey Gower and defending Pepsi titlist Mark Burgtorf. The top three finishers from each heat are locked into the field of 26.


Three more will advance from both “B” features on Saturday, along with three provisionals based on point standings going into the series finale. Completing the starting grid will be the top non-qualifier from time trials and the top non-qualifier from 34 Raceway standings this season. Series points leader Jeremy Grady ran second in his heat. Darrel DeFrance, eight points behind Grady going into the weekend, did not qualify on opening night but is assured a starting spot in the feature. Andy Nezworski raced his way from ninth to win the 20-lap J & J Steel Ironman Challenge, contested by the 13 drivers with perfect attendance through the series’ first 14 events. The victory paid $750. Outside row one starter Ben Nading led the first 15 circuits before Nezworski passed on the lower line.


The only caution of the race came with three laps left and Terry Neal used the higher line to catch Nading for second following the ensuing re-start. Neal drew even with Nezworski at the white flag, but Nezworski pulled back ahead to take the checkers with Neal right behind. Gates open at 4 p.m., hot laps are at 6:15 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m. for the Saturday program. The main event pays a minimum of $500 to start; Bailey earned $400 for setting fast time. Sixty Late Models checked in for first night action, the top car count during the 21st annual tour.


Friday Heat Race Results (top three) –1st heat – 1. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy, Ill.; 2. Hershel Roberts, East Moline, Ill.; 3. Stephan Kammerer, Blue Grass.2nd heat – 1. Matt Strassheim, Burlington; 2. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 3. Robby Warner, Quincy, Ill.3rd heat – 1. Jason Frankel, Quincy, Ill.; 2. Jeremy Grady, Story City; 3. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis.4th heat – 1. Joey Gower, Quincy, Ill.; 2. Nick Ingalls, Quincy, Ill.; 3. Jeff Bair, Solon.5th heat – 1. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill.; 2. Matt Ryan, Davenport; 3. Johnny Johnson, West Burlington. J & J Steel Ironman Challenge Results –1. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo;2. Terry Neal, Ely;3. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown;4. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake;5. Ben Nading, Des Moines;6. McLaughlin;7. Grady;8. Bobby Hansen, Center Point;9. Rob Petsche, Peosta;10. Luke Goedert, Holy Cross;11. Cory Goldbeck, Camanche;12. Jon Merfeld, Peosta;13. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove. 30

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...