Jump to content

THR Celebrated 2006 Season by Crowning 3 Champions

Recommended Posts


January 8, 2007

Contact: Mary Ann Naumann, 512.844.3582


Thunder Hill Raceway celebrates 2006 race season with crowning of 3 champions


This past Saturday (January 6, 2007), Austin police were put on high alert, as word came out about a possible "jailbreak" in Kyle (TX). The jailbreak rumor was never confirmed. However, there was a confirmation and sight of three speeding individuals converging on the Wyndham Garden Hotel in South Austin. The parties in question were found to be celebrating their 2006 season championships from Thunder Hill Raceway (Kyle, TX).


Bringing home top honors for the Thunder Hill Raceway (THR) Grand Stocks was Bryon Reed (Kyle, TX). James Lynch Jr. the 2005 Grand Stock Champion was not going to let his title slip away easily. Reed fought for his hard-earned championship up until the last race of the season. Lynch, who won his heat and the last feature race, still came up short. Reed ended up edging Lynch by a mere 50 points.


The THR Hobby Stocks proved they too could provide a true nail-biting experience in the race for the championship. Gary Chancellor Jr. (Bastrop, TX) walked up on stage as the series champion for 2006. He was battled by none other than his own father (Gary Chancellor, Sr.), who gave him all he could handle up to the last minute. Chancellor, Sr.'s championship hopes were spoiled during a practice crash which left him on the outside looking in as his son took up the defense against the 2006 runner-up of Joey Tschoerner (Taylor, TX).


The third THR class made a bit of a "curtain call." What was the A-Line Auto Parts Street Stocks in 2006 will become the A-Line Auto Parts Super Stocks in 2k7.


"It will take a while to get used to that name," said THR owner Mary Ann Naumann. "However, if there was ever a race to see in 2006, it was certainly the Street Stocks. Changing the series' name to Super Stocks only seemed fitting."


Stepping up on the stage as the final Street Stock Champion was none other than Cary Stapp (San Marcos, TX), now a three time THR championship (2003, 2005, 2006.) Stapp dominated the 2006 racing season by winning four races in 2006, not to mention the fact he finished first or second in all but two races.


It was not long after the ceremonies concluded when the dance floor became just as hot as the action on the track. Teams are taking a much-deserved break before the action heats up once again for the 2007 racing season on April 28th.


For a complete list of the final point standings or updates/schedules for the 2007 racing season, check out the track's web site, www.ThunderHillRaceway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...