Jump to content

ASCS representatives take top sprint car honors for 2006


Recommended Posts

ASCS Reps Johnson, Row & Hahn Take Top Sprint Car Poll Honors



TULSA, Okla. (December 13, 2006) – The American Sprint Car Series was well represented in the 2006 edition of the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll, with Jason Johnson, car owners Lanny and Alan Row and series president Emmett Hahn among the top recipients.




Johnson earned National Driver of the Year honors, while the Row took Team of the Year honors. Hahn received "Promoter of the Year" honors for the fifth time overall.




With Driver of the Year honors for Louisiana's Johnson, who collected 17 overall ASCS feature wins during 2006, it stretched the streak of ASCS winners of the award to six consecutive years. Zach Chappell started the streak by winning the award in 2001, followed by Tim Crawley in 2002 and then Gary Wright from 2003 to 2005.




While Alan and Lanny Row, owners of The Shop Diesel Service No. 41 piloted to victory lane so frequently by Johnson, claimed Team of the Year honors for the first time, it marked the third consecutive year the award fell to an ASCS team after Gary Wright's team took the honors in 2004 and 2005.




Hahn's Promoter of the Year award marked the second year in a row for such honors after taking the Non-Wing Promoter of the Year Award in 2005. Hahn has also collected Promoter of the Year honors from the North American 360 Sprint Car Poll in 1997, 1998 and 2000.




Also, Bob Westphal and Dan Gentrup of Wesmar Racing Engines, which powered Gary Wright, Jason Johnson and Jesse Hockett to a sweep of the top three positions in ASCS National points, shared "Builder/Manufacturer of the Year" honors for 2006 with Brian and Jeannie Butler of ButlerBuilt Seats.



In Driver of the Year voting, Johnson garnered 13 of 22 first-place votes to outdistance three-time and reigning O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National champion Gary Wright for top honors.




Wright settled for runner-up honors according to the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame & Museum's voting panel, with other ASCS representatives among the top ten including ASCS Patriot Region champion Chuck Hebing (fifth), Jesse Hockett (seventh), Travis Rilat (ninth) and Nick Smith (tenth).




ASCS Sprints on Dirt champion Ken Mackey was 13th, ASCS Northern Plains Region champion Chuck Swenson was 14th, ASCS Sooner Region champion Sam Hafertepe, Jr., was 17th, ASCS Mid-South Region champion and National Tour contender Darren Stewart was 22nd and ASCS Sooner Region runner-up Kevin Ramey was voted 21st.



Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.




Final 2006 North American 360 Sprint Car Poll




rank, driver (first place votes), hometown, state, points




1., Jason Johnson (13), Eunice, LA, 1518


2., Gary Wright (3), Hooks, TX, 1113


3., Terry Gray (1), Bartlett, TN, 572


4., Curt Michael (1), Ocean View, DE, 420


5., Chuck Hebing (2), Ontario, NY, 416




6., Andy Forsberg (2), Auburn, CA, 237


7., Jesse Hockett, Warsaw, MO, 174


8., Danny Martin, Jr., Sarasota, FL, 157


9., Travis Rilat, Texas City, TX, 156


10., Nick Smith, Broken Arrow, OK, 132




11., Jake Peters, Sioux Falls, SD, 124


12., Brian Brown, Higginsville, MO, 96


13., Ken Mackey, Manitou Beach, MI, 90


14., Chuck Swenson, Watertown, SD, 79


15., Kenny Adams, Malabar, FL, 71




16., Alain Bergeron, St. Pie, PQ, CAN, 65


17., Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Sunnyvale, TX, 49


18., Garry Lee Maier, Cimarron, KS, 45


19., Danny Horner, Cottage Grove, OR, 44


20., Mike Brecht, Deshler, OH, 42




21., Kevin Ramey, Mansfield, TX, 39


22., Roger Crockett, Rio Linda, CA, 36


tie, Darren Stewart, Bixby, OK, 36


24., Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., Olive Branch, MS, 34


25., Randy Martin, California, MO, 33


tie, Steve Poirier, St. Mathieu de Beloeil, PQ, CAN, 33




Also receiving multiple votes: Billy Alley, Tim Allison, Justin Barger, Tim Crawley, Tim Gee, Cory Haas, Blane Heimbach, Bryan Howland, Sean McClelland, Jeff Mitrisin, Brian Seidel, Jeff Van Dusen, Kevin Welsh, Brook Weibley, Colby Weisz.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...