A-arm mounts ripping out in SLMs

NickHolt

I've heard of and seen a few top rear trailing arm mounts ripping away from the roll cage/bracing before, but I hadn't ever seen the top front a-arm mounts ripping out until both Chris Davidson's left front upper a-arm mount ripped out a couple of weeks ago and Greg Davidson's right front upper a-arm mount ripped out last Saturday. Both at San Antonio Speedway.

I understand that both chassis were made by the same builder.

Wonder what's going on...

Nick Holt

You know I heard on speed channel last night one of the Nascar guys saying something about setup on the right front involving spring binding and cuasing damage to right front on the nextel cars... I wonder if it could be simular on the SLM's... I am no expert but sounds like problems are simular of course I have no clue how close those chassis are to the local SLM chassis but thought I would share that

You know I heard on speed channel last night one of the Nascar guys saying something about setup on the right front involving spring binding and cuasing damage to right front on the nextel cars... I wonder if it could be simular on the SLM's... I am no expert but sounds like problems are simular of course I have no clue how close those chassis are to the local SLM chassis but thought I would share that

Yes, a lot of teams that are able to take advantage of the aero effects built into their bodies use an extreme setup (the popular big bar/soft spring setup) to gain that advantage.

The BB/ss setups may employ pro-dive in the left front and anti-dive in the right front (both of which produce suspension bind) to help keep the nose level and next to the ground as they go through the turns. And many of the teams either allow coil bind to take place in the front springs and/or run on rubber suspension stops to prevent the nose from actually digging into the pavement.