Jump to content

Johnsons last lap pass scores ASCS Motorama win


Recommended Posts

Johnson's Last Lap Heroics Net ASCS Gulf South Win at Motorama


Lonnie Wheatley, BEAUMONT, Tex. (August 18, 2006) Brandon Berryman was less than a lap away from his first career American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region feature win Friday night at Motorama Speedway.



But that first series win continued to be elusive, as Jason Johnson took advantage of lapped traffic to charge by on the final round to record his fifth ASCS Gulf South Region win of the year and 15th overall ASCS win of 2006.



After three failed attempts to start the race, the fourth time proved to be the charm with the entire distance then run in non-stop fashion. Starting from the pole position, Berryman gunned into the early lead and held an eight car-length advantage over the early rounds.



Behind Berryman, Johnson had his hands full in a battle for second with Kent Lewis, Jr., as the pair swapped the position in the early going. Johnson finally took command of second and began closing on Berryman as heavy lapped traffic became a factor in the final rounds.



Johnson finally closed to Berryman's rear nerf bar on the 22nd lap and found the opening he needed as the leaders charged down the backstretch on the final round. Johnson scored the win aboard Marvin Pearson's Wesmar-powered No. 11 Maxim, with Berryman settling for second.




Lewis claimed the show position, with Oklahoma teen Koby Barksdale recording a strong fourth place finish. Scottie McDonald rounded out the top five just ahead of Skip Wilson and Ty Johnson. Gary Watson recovered from a heat race flip to finish eighth, with Brad Best and Tommy Bryant completing the top ten.



Berryman, Richard Holt and Jason Johnson topped heat race action, with Bryant winning the "B" Main.



Lane Whittington went for a wild ride in heat race action. While Whittington walked away uninjured, he was done for the night.



ASCS Gulf South Region Results:



First Heat: 1. 31-Brandon Berryman, 2. 21T-Kent Lewis, Jr., 3. 35-Brad Best, 4. 15-Brad Stokes, 5. 49-Ty Johnson, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 12m-Tommy Bryant, 8. 05-Heath Lindley.



Second Heat: 1. 20-Richard Holt, 2. 88-Scottie McDonald, 3. 35-Greg Rilat, 4. 22-Koby Barksdale, 5. 6s-Steven Padgett, 6. 7-Anthony Reeves, 7. 96-Rod Craddock, 8. 6c-Colby Padgett.



Third Heat: 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 3. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. 10-Larry Hartwell, 5. 69-Larry Howery, 6. 9-Lane Whittington, 7. 3-Gary Watson.



"B" Feature: 1. 12m-Tommy Bryant, 2. 96-Rod Craddock, 3. 6s-Steven Padgett, 4. 3-Gary Watson, 5. 69-Larry Howery, 6. 6c-Colby Padgett, 7. 05-Heath Lindley, 8. 9-Lane Whittington.



"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 31-Brandon Berryman, 3. 21T-Kent Lewis, Jr., 4. 22-Koby Barksdale, 5. 88-Scottie McDonald, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 49-Ty Johnson, 8. 3-Gary Watson, 9. 35-Brad Best, 10. 12m-Tommy Bryant, 11. 10-Larry Hartwell, 12. 69-Larry Howery, 13. 96-Rod Craddock, 14. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 15. 35-Greg Rilat, 16. 15-Brad Stokes, 17. 6s-Steven Padgett, 18. 20-Richard Holt, 19. 6c-Colby Padgett. DNS: 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek.



ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Greg Rilat 1,800, 2. Gary Watson 1,774, 3. Ray Allen Kulhanek 1,701, 4. Lane Whittington 1,624, 5. Larry Hartwell 1,520, 6. Richard Holt 1,410, 7. Kent Lewis, Jr. 1,292, 8. Chris Sweeney 1,177, 9. Jason Johnson 1,160, 10. Ty Johnson 1,002.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...