Jump to content

ASCoT @ Devils Bowl Speedway results 6/24/06


Recommended Posts

Ramey Completes O'Reilly ASCoT Devil's Bowl Saturday Sweep


Lonnie Wheatley, MESQUITE, Tex. (June 24, 2006) A mere three hours after capturing the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour Devil's Bowl Spring Nationals makeup event, Fort Worth's Kevin Ramey proved to be a man of many seasons by racing to victory lane in Saturday's 25-lap O'Reilly ASCoT nightcap in the Devil's Bowl Speedway Summer Nationals.



But after wiring the field in the makeup event, Ramey had to work for it to complete the improbable sweep.



Ramey made a daring slide past Michigan's Dustin Daggett on the 18th round then held off Gary Wright over the final laps to score his second ASCS National Tour triumph of the year, and the night, aboard Tom Willis' Wells-powered Commercial Music/Urban Nissan No. 7m Maxim.



"I'll tell ya, I really love this place, if they ever shut it down I think I'd just have to quit racing," Ramey commented of the track at which he's claimed three track championships in the past. "Gary Wright finished second in both of these features tonight. I grew up around here watching Gary kick everyone's tail and to sweep tonight's features and beat him in both of 'em, it's a dream come true."



After starting fourth, Ramey motored into second on the opening round and set his sights on front row outside starter Daggett, who outgunned Zach Chappell to take command at the drop of the green flag.



Following a pair of cautions in the opening four rounds, including one in which Brandon Erwin got upside down in turn two, Daggett set sail with Ramey, Chappell and Jeff Mitrisin giving chase. Meanwhile, Wright battled past Travis Rilat for fifth on the fifth lap, then overtook Mitrisin for fourth by the eighth circuit.



Wright fought his way past Chappell for third on the 15th round, with Ramey turning up the heat on race-long leader Daggett a lap later. Ramey closed to Daggett's rear nerf bar then made a big slide across turn two on the 18th round to take command. By the time Daggett recovered, Wright had charged by to take over the runner-up slot down the backstretch.



Fighting a progressively tightening car, Daggett's strong drive took a downward turn in short order. Daggett lost third to Rilat following a lap 19 restart, then watched a surging Tony Bruce, Jr., charge by for fourth on the 22nd lap. Daggett and Sean McClelland made contact while dicing for fifth down the front straightaway a lap later, with Daggett making hard contact with the inside concrete wall, precipitating a red flag Daggett was uninjured after his second destroyed car in as many nights.



Set for a three-lap dash to the checkered flag, Ramey was up to the challenge and held off Wright to score his seventh career ASCS National Tour feature win by a slim three car-length advantage. With his second runner-up finish of the night aboard the Wesmar-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction No. 9 Maxim, Wright closed to within five points of fifth-place finisher Nick Smith in the championship points race.



Rilat raced underneath the checkered flag in the show position aboard the Motor Mike-powered F&J Construction/Hard Eight Racing No. 29 Maxim, with Bruce advancing eight positions to snare fourth in the Salina-powered Best Well Service No. 18 Maxim. Smith maintained his point lead by earning Hard Charger honors with a drive from 16th to fifth in the Ostrich-powered MPHG Promotions No. 15s J&J.



McClelland crossed the stripe sixth for the second time of the night, with 17th-starter Jason Johnson, Mitrisin, Darren Stewart and 20th-starter Jesse Hockett completing the top ten.



Daggett, Chappell, Rilat and Ramey topped heat race action for the 33-car field, with Johnson winning the "B" Main.



Larry Long's night came to an early end with a wild turn one flip in the fourth heat race. Long was uninjured.



O'Reilly ASCoT Devil's Bowl Speedway Summer Nationals Results:



Heats Races (Top 16 in passing points to "A" Main Top 6 to Pole Dash; balance to "B" Main)



Brodix Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 85-Dustin Daggett, 2. 65-Skip Wilson, 3. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 4. 15s-Nick Smith, 5. 41-Jason Johnson, 6. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 7. 1s-George White, 8. 22-Koby Barksdale. DNS: 12-Trey Robb.



Wesmar-Shaver Heat Two (8 Laps):Â 1. 50z-Zach Chappell, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 91-Darren Stewart, 5. 31-Matt Clevenger, 6. 64J-Johnny Miller, 7. 4-Mike Chadd. DNS: 94s-Natalie Sather.



Brodix Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat, 2. 5e-Brandon Erwin, 3. 1-Sean McClelland, 4. 61J-Danny Jennings, 5. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. 75-Jesse Hockett, 7. 81au-Gavin Punch, 8. d12-Doc Sloan.



Wesmar-Shaver Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 3. 46-Jan Howard, 4. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. 11F-Foster Landon, 6. a12-Kent Buckley, 7. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 8. 28-Larry Long.



Pole Dash (Finishing Order Determines Front Three Rows of "A" Main):



Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 50z-Zach Chappell, 2. 85-Dustin Daggett, 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 5. 9-Gary Wright, 6. 10-Jeff Mitrisin.



"B" Main Top 6 Advance to "A"Main



“B†Feature (12 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 31-Matt Clevenger, 3. 11F-Foster Landon, 4. 75-Jesse Hockett, 5. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. 64J-Johnny Miller, 7. 1s-George White, 8. 81au-Gavin Punch, 9. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 10. 12-Trey Robb, 11. d12-Doc Sloan, 12. a12-Kent Buckley, 13. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 14. 22-Koby Barksdale, 15. 4-Mike Chadd. DNS: 28-Larry Long, 94s-Natalie Sather.



O'Reilly ASCoT Devil's Bowl Speedway Summer Nationals "A" Main Event:



"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 29-Travis Rilat, 4. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. 15s-Nick Smith, 6. 1-Sean McClelland, 7. 41-Jason Johnson, 8. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 9. 91-Darren Stewart, 10. 75-Jesse Hockett, 11. 11F-Foster Landon, 12. 64J-Johnny Miller, 13. 61J-Danny Jennings, 14. 12-Trey Robb, 15. 85-Dustin Daggett, 16. 46-Jan Howard, 17. 50z-Zach Chappell, 18. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 19. 65-Skip Wilson, 20. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 21. 31-Matt Clevenger, 22. 5e-Brandon Erwin, 23. 14-Michael Lang, 24. 44J-Abe Sherwood.



Lap Leaders: Dustin Daggett 1-17, Kevin Ramey 18-25.



Note: Trey Robb and Abe Sherwood utilized provisional starting positions for the "A" Main event.



O'Reilly ASCoT Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Nick Smith 1,531, 2. Gary Wright 1,526, 3. Jesse Hockett 1,431, 4. Travis Rilat 1,414, 5. Jason Johnson 1,380, 6. Darren Stewart 1,360, 7. Jan Howard 1,310, 7. Sean McClelland 1,308, 9. Trey Robb 1,193, 10. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,180, 11. Dustin Daggett 1,153, 12. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1,132, 13. Zach Chappell 1,102, 14. Abe Sherwood 996, 15. Kevin Ramey 853.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...