Jump to content

ASCS National Tour Speedweek


Recommended Posts

O'Reilly ASCS Announces Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek!


Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 17, 2006) Fans have demanded it. And racers have demanded it as well. The O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series has come through with the announcement of the upcoming O'Reilly ASCS COMP Cams Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek presented by American Bank of Oklahoma.



The 14th Annual ASCS Speedweek for the National Tour is set to encompass six nights of intense racing action at a half dozen tracks throughout Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas, kicking off on July 7 then culminating with the finale eight nights later on July 15.



The rugged six-event ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek will kick off atop the lightning-fast, 3/8-mile high banks of Bolivar Speedway in Bolivar, MO, on Friday night, July 7.



From there, the O'Reilly ASCS National Tour makes its debut at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK, the following night, Saturday, July 8, before wrapping up the opening half of Speedweek with a Sunday night National Tour return to Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, OK, on July 9.




The final half of ASCS COMP Cams Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek presented by American Bank of Oklahoma gets under way on Thursday night, July 13, atop the legendary, half-mile Devil's Bowl Speedway clay oval in Mesquite, TX. The series moves north to Oklahoma City's State Fair Speedway the following night, July 14, with the grand Speedweek finale unfolding atop Lawton Speedway's red clay oval on Saturday night, July 15.




Bixby, Oklahoma's Darren Stewart edged Texan Gary Wright by a mere two points to capture the 2005 ASCS Speedweek crown. Last year's edition of ASCS Speedweek featured six different feature winners in seven events, with only 2004 Speedweek kingpin Tim Crawley breaking into victory lane on two occasions.



A five-time ASCS Speedweek champion, Wright hasn't captured the Speedweek title since 2002. Other Speedweek championships for Wright came in 1994, 1997, 1999 and 2000.



Five different drivers have captured top Speedweek honors over the past five years, including Stewart (2005), Crawley (2004), Shane Stewart (2003), Wright (2002) and Kevin Ramey (2001).



In its 15th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing in the United States, the American Sprint Car Series will present approximately 180 nights of racing in 2006 including the National Tour and its Regional Tours (Gulf South, Mid-South, Midwest, Northern Plains, Patriot Sprint Group, Rocky Mountain, Sooner, Southern and Sprints on Dirt).


Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...