Jump to content

Smith New Leader of TSRS Rookie Race

Recommended Posts

Texas Super Racing Series

Public Relations Office (512) 784-3026

Series Information Line (512) 844-3582

Press Office Phone (281) 482-6798

Press Office E-mail: campmayberry@hotmail.com


Smith New Leader Of Texas Super Racing Series Rookie Race


By: Pat Mayberry


Sixteen year old Cody Smith took over the top spot in the Texas Super Racing Series, “TXRacing.com - Rookie of the Year”, chase with his fourth place effort in the series second stop of the year in April. Smith also had a good first outing with the series, capturing a ninth place finish in Houston on opening night for the 2006 race season. With his Top 9 and Top 4 results in the first two races this season, Smith now holds a narrow lead over Robert Walker for the top new rookie with the series.


Smith must be considered a formidable foe Saturday night, May 27th, for the Kevin Suberg Memorial 75 at Thunder Hill Raceway. Thunder Hill Raceway is the track where Smith won both “Rookie of the Year” and “Series Champion” titles in the Hobby Stock division in 2005.


After the first two races of the season, the race for the Rookie title is close with only fifty points separate the top six contenders. Standing for the “TXRacing.com – Rookie of the Year Award” are Smith with (355 points), Robert Walker (-24), Kyle Sirizzotti (-33), Adam Haugh (-36), Shane Harris (-43) and Craig Sellman (-50).


To follow the Rookie of the Year battle and all the Texas Super Racing Series news, please visit their series website at www.manracingpromotions.com. For ticket information about the Kevin Suberg Memorial 75, please visit thunderhillraceway.com. Pit gates will open at 10 AM and racing begins at 5:00 PM. Thunder Hill Raceway is located at Exit #210 off IH-35 North in Kyle (TX).

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...