Jump to content

TMS "Speed Reads" for May 17, 2006

Recommended Posts



Free Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day Tickets Now Available

Record-Setting Day for Speedway Children’s Charities


FORT WORTH, Texas (May 17, 2006) – Defending Indy Racing League IndyCar Series champion Dan Wheldon; IndyCar Series sensation Danica Patrick, defending Bombardier Learjet 500k winner Tomas Scheckter; four-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Texas winner Brendan Gaughan – fans can see these racing stars and many more free of charge at Texas Motor Speedway courtesy of new qualifying day title sponsor Oak Creek Homes.


On Thursday, June 8, race fans receive free admission to the Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day at Texas Motor Speedway that showcases the stars from both the IndyCar Series and Craftsman Truck Series. NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series teams qualify for the June 9 Fort Worth 400k at 6 p.m. CT followed by Indy Racing League IndyCar Series qualifying for the June 10 Bombardier Learjet 500k at 7:30 p.m. CT.


“We are proud to have Oak Creek Homes join us as our qualifying day sponsor for this exciting race weekend,” Texas Motor Speedway President Eddie Gossage said. “Once again, Texas Motor Speedway fans are the big winners by having free qualifying day tickets provided.”


The free Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day tickets are available at participating Oak Creek Homes, Academy Sports & Outdoors, Sleep Experts and Lowe’s Home Improvement locations. No purchase is necessary.


The free admission allows fans to enter the main grandstand when gates open at 11 a.m. on June 8, giving them the opportunity to catch some pre-qualifying practice sessions. The schedule features Craftsman Truck Series practice from 11 a.m.–2 p.m. followed by the IndyCar Series practice sessions from 2:30–5:30 p.m. The activities conclude with qualifying for the truck and IndyCar Series races. All seating during Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day is general admission.


“Attending the Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day is a great way for fans to start the race weekend,” Gossage said. “Some of the most exhilarating performances come during qualifying for the races at ‘The Great American Speedway!’.”


Mike Skinner set a Texas Motor Speedway track record for the truck series with his pole-winning speed of 182.902 mph last June during qualifying. Billy Boat owns the IndyCar Series qualifying record at Texas at 225.979 mph set in September 1998. The green flag drops on the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Fort Worth 400k on June 9 at 8 p.m. CT. The Indy Racing League IndyCar Series Bombardier Learjet 500k takes the green flag on June 10 at 8 p.m. CT.




Qualifying on the pole during the June 8 Oak Creek Homes Qualifying Day could prove to be fortuitous for one IndyCar Series driver – if history has any bearing on the matter. Four IndyCar Series races at Texas Motor Speedway have been won from the pole, with three of those coming in the last four events. Tomas Scheckter put his Pennzoil Panther entry on the pole last June, led a race-high 119 of the 200 laps and went on to win the Bombardier Learjet 500k. The previous season Helio Castroneves won the pole for the October race and led a race-high 104 laps en route to the win in the Chevy 500k. Dario Franchitti captured the Bombardier Learjet 500k pole earlier that year in June, but he finished runner-up to Tony Kanaan. The wire-to-wire surge in recent seasons began in October of 2003 with Gil de Ferran, who won the pole, led a race-high 68 laps and won the Chevy 500k. The other wire-to-wire winner was Sam Hornish Jr. in October of 2001. Interestingly, four IndyCar Series winners at Texas have come from the outside of Row 1 – Billy Boat (June 1998), Mark Dismore (October 1999), Scott Goodyear (October 2000) and Scott Sharp (June 2001).




Laps for Charity presented by ethanol drew a record-setting crowd this past Saturday as more than 630 cars took three laps each around the 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway tri-oval. The event raised more than $19,000 for Speedway Children’s Charities. Several area car clubs enjoyed the festivities, making the Laps for Charity event a destination for their group to gather and take laps on the track. The second Laps for Charity event for 2006 is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 9.




Ever wanted to enjoy exquisite cuisine high above Texas Motor Speedway in a luxurious condominium? Here’s your opportunity. Speedway Motorsports Inc. CEO/Chairman Bruton Smith is the honorary host for Life In The Fast Lane presented by The Speedway Club at Texas Motor Speedway on Thursday evening, June 8. Fans will enjoy hors d’oeuvres in the Lone Star Tower Clubhouse, a special tour of four spectacular residences in Lone Star Tower, specially prepared food from six area restaurants, a single malt scotch tasting journey, spectacular wines, live auction and live entertainment fromThe Lou Carfa Trio. The restaurants participating are Del Frisco’s Steakhouse, Sambuca’s, P.F. Chang’s of Grapevine, Texas de Brazil, The Classic Café and Levy Restaurants at The Speedway Club. Tickets are $250 per couple or $150 for individuals, but space is limited. To RSVP, contact Speedway Children’s Charities at (817) 215-8421 or sccreservations@texasmotorspeedway.com.




When in Rhome, do as the citizens do – support the mayor! Rhome Mayor Mark Lorance was the winner of the weekly Mayor Challenge Series Cup preliminary round race this past Saturday at Texas Motor Speedway. He advances to the championship race on May 27, joining first week prelim winner, Flower Mound Mayor Jody Smith. Lorance took the win while Richardson Mayor Gary Slagel finished second, Roanoke Mayor Scooter Gierisch third, and River Oaks Mayor Herman Earwood fourth. Each week during May, four area mayors compete in Legends cars at Texas Motor Speedway with the winner advancing to the title event at the end of the month. Residents of the cities being represented each week receive free admission to the races that night. This Saturday’s schedule features Murphy Mayor Bret Baldwin, Justin Mayor Ed Trietsch, Lewisville Mayor Gary Carey and Keller Mayor Julie Tandy. Schedule is subject to change. Gates open at 6 p.m. with racing starting at 7:30 p.m.




The Top 10 Moments in Texas Motor Speedway are being ranked by fans via online voting through the “103.3 ESPN Radio Presents Top 10 Moments at Texas Motor Speedway” promotion. Monthly prizes are given to winners who are selected from the voting. Kevin McKinnon, of Whittier, Calif., is the April winner and the recipient of a $100 gift certificate for dinner at The Speedway Club at Texas Motor Speedway. Fans can go to www.texasmotorspeedway.com and www.espn1033.com to vote for their favorite Top 10 Moment in Texas Motor Speedway history. The top moment based on the fan voting results will be announced during the Dickies 500 weekend in November.


For additional information, please contact the Texas Motor Speedway Media Relations Department at (817) 215-8520 or pr@texasmotorspeedway.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...