Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Kenny Wallace scores 1st wn of 2014 DIRTcar Modified Nationals

Recommended Posts

Wallace Scores First Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Season at Terre Haute Action Track


By Jordan Morris


TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — July 9, 2014 — Kenny Wallace started from the pole-position and led over half of the feature event Wednesday night at Terre Haute Action Track en route to scoring his first $1,000 checkered flag of the 2014 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals season.


Wallace, of Concord, N.C., started from the pole-position in the 20-lap feature event with NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Justin Allgaier joining him on the outside of the front row. Allgaier slipped out to an early lead on Wallace as he controlled the first eight circuits.


The leader extended his advantage on Wallace who held off challenges from Tuesday night winner Devin Gilpin and Jacob Poel. Unfortunately for Allgaier his car started to fade just before halfway, allowing Wallace and Poel to catch and pass him before his engine finally let go a few laps later, resulting in a disappointing 12th place finish.


Wallace took control of the top spot on lap nine and never looked back as he held off challenges from Poel but never lost the lead, eventually defeating the second place driver by over a straightaway. Wallace dominated the remaining 12 laps, securing his first victory of the season with only seven races remaining in the six-week long DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals 2014 season.


“We’ve been busting our [back sides] running back and forth to Fox Sports 1 every Sunday,” said Wallace speaking of his day job hosting NASCAR pre-race shows. “All week I’ve been running this dirt car and I’ve been crushed we haven’t won a Summer Nationals race.”


Ken Schrader, A.J Fike and Tyler Nicely rounded out the top five. Heat race winners were Poel, Allgaier and Wallace.


The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals joins the DIRTcar Summer Nationals on Thursday night at Macon Speedway in Macon, Ill.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Terre Haute Action Track; Terre Haute, Ind.; July 9, 2014;


A-Main (20-laps): 1. 36-Kenny Wallace ($1,000), 2. 82-Jacob Poel, 3. 9-Ken Schrader, 4. 10-A.J. Fike, 5. 25-Tyler Nicely, 6. 4S-Rob Starkey, 7. 42-Roger Mills, 8. 77H-Jake Humphrey, 9. 92-Kenny Carmichael, 10. 11M-Josh McDaniel, 11. 500-Steve Adams, 12. 51-Justin Allgaier, 13. 33-Scott Ricketts, 14. 92C-Kenny Carmichael Jr, 15. 89W-Rick Weitekamp, 16. 67-Jeff Vanlannen, 17. 32Z-Nate Zimmer, 18. 1G-Devin Gilpin, 19. 10R-Curt Rhodes, 20. K9-Will Krup, 21. 6B-Dave Baldwin, 22. 35S-Matthew Smith, 23. 13W-Josh Webb.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this