Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  

Moyer nabs 3rd 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals win

Recommended Posts

Moyer Captures Third Victory of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Tri-State Speedway


By Jordan Morris


HAUBSTADT, Ind. — July 6, 2014 — Billy Moyer dominated Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway leading all 40 laps en route to claiming his first career victory at the quarter-mile oval and his third win of the 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals.


Moyer claimed the pole-position with Curtis Roberts starting on his outside. Roberts faded early, losing second to Tanner English, who started third, and Randy Korte, who started fifth. English and Korte challenged Moyer for the lead early but had no luck at wrestling the lead away from the Hall of Fame driver from Batesville, Ark.


As Moyer pulled away from the rest of the field, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular Austin Dillon charged his way to the front. Dillon, who finished a career-best fifth place Sunday morning at Daytona International Speedway, made the trek to the Indiana track after rain showers cut the Sprint Cup race short.


Dillon started the 40-lap feature in the seventh position, but made his way to the front with just a handful of laps remaining as he passed English for the third position on lap 36. After being passed by Dillon, English spun in turn one causing the caution to come out for the third time of the night. With the caution out, Moyer’s large race lead was erased as Korte and Dillon were brought back to his bumper.


On the ensuing restart, Dillon made his way around Korte for second but could not get to Moyer in time, as Moyer led the final laps, claiming the $5,000 checkered flag, his 85th career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory, tying Shannon Babb at the top of the series all-time wins list.


“We just guessed everything right here tonight,” said Moyer, who was making his first start at Tri-State Speedway since switching to Longhorn Chassis in the offseason. “Right off the trailer, it wasn’t too bad when we hot-lapped, and we just kept tweaking on it through the night, then in the heat race it felt pretty good, and we did just a few other things for the main event. The track just always keep you guessing, and we just made the right decisions.”


Korte, Bobby Pierce and Ryan Unzicker rounded out the top five. Heat race winners included Curtis Roberts, Moyer, English and Jason Feger.


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Tuesday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.;July 6, 2014;


A-Main (40-laps): 1. 21-Billy Moyer ($5,000), 2. 3-Austin Dillon, 3. 0-Randy Korte, 4. 32-Bobby Pierce, 5. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 6. 7R-Kent Robinson, 7. 25-Jason Feger, 8. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 9. 18-Shannon Babb, 10. 81-Brian Shirley, 11. 11R-Tyler Reddick, 12. 6K-Michael Kloos, 13. 54-Dillan White, 14. 7T-Steve Thorsten, 15. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 16. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 17. 96-Tanner English, 18. 9R-Curtis Roberts, 19. 33-Kevin Cole, 20. 27S-Mike Schulte, 21. 1M-Jim Moon, 22. 61-Caleb Ashby.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this