new to TPS

Hello everyone, my name is Anthony and I'm going to be joining TPS for the next season of racing. I am a complete newbie at racing so I figured I start here to ask for any tips on building my car and getting everything ready. My car is a 1989 Ford Mustang and is currently still in total stock configuration. I will be starting from scratch and I'm getting pretty excited. Even my wife is on board!!

I have many questions on how to obtain some of the equipment and parts outlined in the rule book and I am hoping some local Corpus Christi racers wouldn't mind helping me out. So here goes...

Roll cage: I'm not a welder. But I do know from my drag racing days that I can order a kit and have someone weld it in place for me. Does anyone in Corpus offer roll cage building? Id rather get one made custom fit if that's a better route to go. Looking for anyones input on this one.

Windshield and back glass: keep OEM glass or upgrade to lexan...any input? I hear lexan scratches easily so that worries me a bit.

Carb: I will have to switch from fuel injection to carb..do many racers have to do this? I know a bit is involved but not too much. Mechanically I have the skill set, just wondering if anyone has had to do this and if they had any problems.

Rims and tires: well from the rules I have figured out that everyone runs the same tire. But rims, is everyone using a standard brand or anything...or is this totally up to me to figure out on my own?

I guess those are my basic questions and will get me started. I really appreciate you all reading my post. I'm just trying to build my car the right way so I can enjoy this with my family.

Ill be at the next race so hopefully I can meet some of you.

Anthony

there are several folks in the corpus area who know a lot about building these cars. my suggestion, attend the next race and spend time in the pits, help out and observe. you will learn so much in just that one night. welcome to the texas pro sedans